Wednesday, November 3, 2010

NU 107 rocks out All-Rock Format after 23 years

It's official. NU 107 is to change format from being all-rock to mainstream pop on Sunday, November 7, 2010. The "longest running rock station" held its last NU 107 Rock Awards, its 17th, October 29, at the NBC Tent.

Former and present DJs drew on a recollection of the station's 23-year history.

The 2010 RA's was hosted by Iza Calzado, Tado and Erning.

Artist of the Year: Franco
Album of the Year: Franco - Franco
Vocalist of the Year: Gabby Alipe - Urbandub
Guitarist of the Year: Peavy "Sideshow" Nicolas, Fran Lorenzo - Sleepwalk Circus
Bassist of the Year: Lalay Lim - Urbandub
Drummer of the Year: Otep Concepcion - Ozawa / In Love and War
Song of the Year: This Gathering - Franco
Best New Artist: Tanya Markova
In The Raw Award: The Flying Ipis
Listeners Choice: Franco
Video of the Year: Disney - Tanya Markova
Best Album Packaging: Sleepwalk Circus
URock College Band of the Year: Reese & Vica of Ateneo
Producer of the Year: Angee Rozul & Ely Buendia & Robert Javier - In Love and War
Best Live Act: Tanya Markova
Hall of Fame: Angee Rozul

In his Tumblr account, the station's Musical Director/DJ-since-1988/The Dawn bassist, Francis Brew, shares, "Between compromise and reformatting, I’d choose compromise anyday. At least the word ‘promise’ is there, corny as this may sound." This is to answer an anonymous query questioning the fidelity of the station to play genuine rock music.

Quark Henares, NU DJ and son of station owner, confirms the news also in a Tumblr post, disclosing what listeners can expect in the station's last week of airing.

NU loyalists and rock royalties have expressed disappointment over the matter. Atom Henares, on the other hand, seems satisfied with the legacy of 107. In an interview with The Philippine Star, he shares, "Mission accomplished. Pinoy Rock has arrived. There’s no turning back. It’s here to stay."

All good things must come to an end...but the legacy remains. NU 107, the Home of Nu Rock (1987-2010).

Of related news:
FHM recalls 7 Greatest NU 107 Rock Award Moments.

Other media outlets that closed shop this year include MTV Philippines (1992) - aired last February 16, 2010, and DWFM U92 (2009) - closed shop September 30, 2010.


franco = love

nice set of winners... deserving..=)

NU 107, will be greatly missed. =(